Delta trikes vs tadpole trikes

MitchJi

10 MW
About 40 years ago I rode a friend’s harley three wheeler and immediately decided that delta trikes are awfully. It was unbelievably bad at corners. You had to literally fight it around corners.

A friend is in the process of designing a delta trike and before I tell him it is a bad idea i thought I should check and see if my experience was representative?

Unless the design allows the trike to lean, the delta trikes will always always corner and brake slower than the tadpole trikes.

Thank you 🙏!

I have been riding an electric delta recombent for the last 7 years. I bought plans from Atomic Zombie.

Before I built the delta I built a tadpole. The tadpole drawbacks are, lack of being seen and zig zag travel while pedaling. Both of these can be overcome, but I just didn't feel safe.

The delta design is longer and thus more stable in a straight line.

When cornering you need to slow down. I did put it up on two wheels a couple of times, so learned the limits of the design.

This bike was purpose built for commuting mostly on rural roads. It served me well.

Bentrider online has lots of info and resources on these style of bikes.

Good luck!

MitchJi said:
About 40 years ago I rode a friend’s harley three wheeler and immediately decided that delta trikes are awfully. It was unbelievably bad at corners. You had to literally fight it around corners.

A friend is in the process of designing a delta trike and before I tell him it is a bad idea i thought I should check and see if my experience was representative?
Your negative experience is NOT representative of a properly designed Delta platform - far from it! Damn few builders/designers incorporate correct steering geometry, and even fewer abide by the criticalness of proper CoM placement.