Motor controller cost breakdown

Vaibhi

1 mW
Hello good people,
I am new to the world of EVs and I want to learn more about them.
I have been reading controller manuals to understand what an electric 2 wheeler motor controller is made of and I am trying to do a cost breakdown, like what part contributes most to a controllers total cost.
Do you guys have any ideas on how to do it?
Greetings,
Vaibhi

https://www.embeddedadvisor.com/vendors/top-pcb-design-and-engineering-solution-companies.html
PCBWay I think I have heard of before, quickly punch in your B.O.M. and get your estimate for that aspect, but the design and layout of pcb by them is an unknown factor.

Since you posted in E-Vehicles General, we can only assume that you want a motor controller for a car or truck of some sort, talking hundreds of amps in discharge amps, but how many volts. There are just so many unanswered questions like what features, sine, square, foc, regen, pedal assist, do you want it to be programmable?, how resistant do you want it?
- Just simple basic features, skipped over.

Mosfets are like $4-5 each, an ebike controller can have 18 mosfets, that $90 just in mosfets, unless you go with something cheaper, then there is the micro-controler, maybe $30???? who knows.Check it out for yourself at mouser.com.

calab said:
Mosfets are like $4-5 each, an ebike controller can have 18 mosfets, that $90 just in mosfets, unless you go with something cheaper, then there is the micro-controler, maybe $30???? who knows.Check it out for yourself at mouser.com.

Thats my effort.

A controller can have any multiple of six for a three phase. So that means 6, 12, 18, 24, ect. A pair is minimum for every phase. Paralleled for more current handling. You need at least two for each bridge, minimum. For the switching.