Reel Lawn mower

Cactus

1 µW
I bought an old reel type lawn mower with a gas engine. I'd like to electrify it by replacing the briggs and stratton gas engine with an electric motor, controller and battery that could last about 1.5 hours. I work with biomolecules for a living and don't know anything about electric motors, controllers and batteries or how to pair them (I know; you pair two things, not three). I have one EGO 56V 5Ah and one 7.5Ah battery, but I'd be happy to buy another battery pack that would work with a motor and controller. Any suggestions on how to pair an electric motor, controller and battery for a reel lawn mower? The mower probably weighs 50 lbs without the gas engine.

Are there scooter or ebike setups available that would work?
Thanks.

There's a Youtube video showing a conversion like what you want to do.

Johan grejar's Eljagaren - Electric reel mower build
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeEtkvurkP4
[youtube]BeEtkvurkP4[/youtube]

You'll have to figure out how to couple your motor to the reel (see 0:19-0:24 & 0:34 in his video) and how to mount your motor.

Scooter motors come with or without gear reduction. With gear reduction they run much lower rpms. You'll have to figure out which type you need. I think without is closer to the gas engine.
Example 48V motors here: https://electricscooterparts.com/motors48volt.html

LOL. Thanks. I am having trouble with the language. Norwegian? Swedish?
Also, I didn't want to use a heavy lead-acid battery, but suppose I could. I have a deep cycle marine battery laying around that goes with a Minn Kota trolling motor. My Tru Cut reel mower is quite a bit newer than that one, but as long as the knife is sharp and they don't rust, they last forever. I'm in Scottsdale, AZ, so no real humidity here.

Seems like I will do quite a bit of trial and error for the gear reduction to see what works best.

You can use your Ego batteries.

Johan grejar gave the English translation in the Youtube heading: