Need some guidance on watts up meter

SarasotaSlim

1 µW
Thank you for the invite as im new to the electric bikes . Just purchased the Bagibike 48v folding ebike . The display only shows a battery graph of the status of the battery and no info on the true volts or amps . So I was told to get a Watts up meter to get these readings. But b4 i order one i need to know how to hook it up to the bike to get these readings ,remember im new to these bikes and my knowledge is limmited .

In general, you got good advice, but for your application it may not be so good. You have to get access to the positive and negative wires that run between your battery and your controller. If your controller is located within the battery rack that may be very difficult or even impossible. Even if you can get access to these wires, splicing in a Watts Up meter would probably void any warranty on the new bike. More info would be necessary.

Even though I use Watts Up meters on both of my trikes, they are powered by kits that I installed and neither access to the wires nor warranty issues applied.

On several bikes that I put together for friends/relatives there was no interest in having access to the information the Watts Up meter provides, and on one where I did install a meter, it was never used and on a later upgrade I removed it.

Back to your case, You can get a fair idea of your amp hours or watt hours used by simply observing how long it takes to charge your battery. Start with a fully charged battery, take a ride, note how long it takes to recharge the battery, calculate the usage.

Here's an example using made up data: 48 V 10 AH battery, 2 Amp charger, ride 10 miles, require two hours to recharge the battery. Since it took two hours with a 2 Amp charger to recharge the battery you used 2 A * 2 H = 4 AH from your 10 AH battery.