The Swizzbee (aka Dolphin) ebike - help !

UKebiker

10 mW
Hi All,

I’ve recently acquired a Swizzbee ebike in amazing condition. They are extremely rare in the UK and rather unique in the way they function (and in my opinion great looking machines. I’m afraid I’ll need to give the information I have before getting to the question. Apols if this seems rambling....I’ll keep succinct as I can 

So

• They were produced in Switzerland about ten years the brain child of one Michael Futter (http://www.escooter.de/Z_Kategorien/speedx/swizzbee/powerbike.html)
• He moved to USA where the same concept was marketed under the Dolphin name
• The bike uses a 270w heinzmann mid mounted motor and a unique drive system. The motor is connected to a differential hub via a belt drive on the left. The gears/chain are connected to the hub on the right. The hub/differential melds the power (I’m not an engineer so this is my laymans terminology - details here http://worldwide.espacenet.com/publicationDetails/biblio?CC=US&NR=5242335&KC=&FT=E&locale=en_EP)
• Battery is a LG 10ah lithium pack in mine (early versions had NiMh). The charger is, unusually, integrated.
• The electrics are complex. There is a 3 press personalised code to unlock the bike – get it wrong 10 times and you need a 10 press secondary code from the dealer. There aren’t any anymore.....at least not that I’m aware of so I guess the bike would be bricked if this happened !

So, my bike has the original battery which is quite degraded. Its good for about 10/12miles on the flat. The sag under load is horrible.

I’m pretty good with batteries – I’ve built a few bikes up including the packs (cranks and hub). I tend to use Samsung 18650 cells these days and also Lipo bricks (usually HK multistar). I’ve repaired quite a few bikes also for others. So I have a reasonable level of knowledge

The Question then