Automatic loading setup for an autonomous vehicle - Will this work?

jb84

10 µW
Hello,

I'm currently trying to build an automatic charging module for an autonomous RC vehicle. Before you notice it through my questions, let me say that I have very little experience on the field of charging and that I am aware of the risks.

The battery to be charged is a 4s2p Li-Ion battery with a capacity of 12.4 Ah. The vehicle carrying the battery will steer into a loading dock and power itself down. Now two contacts in the loading dock will connect a Li-Ion charger to the positive and negative pole of the battery and start charging it. The batteries' balancing wires are constantly connected to an active balancing circuit to equalize the cells.
The components to be used:
  • 4s Balance charger
  • A Li-ion Charger with 5-6 A, e.g. this or this (sorry, last one is german only).
  • The batteries are custom made and come without bms.

My questions are the following:
  1. Does this pass a basic sanity check? Did I correctly understand the functions of all parts involved? Is there something that won't work.
  2. Can the balancer be constantly connected to the balancing wires(during charging and draining). The vehicle can drain the battery with up to 120 A.
  3. I want to charge the batteries with 5-6 A max. Does the balancer have to support this much current? The balancing wires have a diameter of 22 AWG, so they probably wouldn't support it anyway? What balancing power should I aim at?
Thanks in advance

If you only have a balancer then it needs to have the possibility to take the max current from the charger, otherwise one cell could be overcharged.

But if you have a BMS that is also balancing, then 0,1 zo 0,3A balancing current is enough.

The balancer can always be connected to the battery.

Some thoughts below (including risk discussion even though you said you're aware of them, because you also said you have very little experience in charging):