Budget Lightweight Friction Drive

hjoore

1 mW
Hi Ebike guru's and Ebike-curious readers!

I am new to Ebike building, but am glad to tell you that I just made my own little friction drive and had a great first test ride!

Heres the setup:
- Motor: Turnigy 6354
- ESC: HobbyKing SS 190/200
- Battery: 1 X 5S 18.5V 8000mAh Zippy
- BEC: 3A BEC
- Turnigy Servo Tester, modded with twist throttle (soon, now just a potmeter)
- Wooden single sided frame (thinking green and budget), with a little rubber band to keep the motor off the wheel.

Weight: approx. 2 kg without LiPo, 3kg with LiPo, total bike weight: just 16 kg!, I can't really feel the difference when its deactivated.

I just did 13.5 km with an average of 37 km/h with varying amounts of pedaling, but the last 6 km full throttle with no pedaling!
The battery has used about 7200Ah, so thats 7.2*18.5 = 133Wh = 10 Wh/km!
This is equivalent to 300 km/l in gasoline! So basically 10 times cheaper than a scooter/moped per km.
The top speed at first was 42km/h, at the end 38 km/h, so it is pretty consistent.
The great thing is, the 18.5V limits the speed to 42km/h, but when you get to a hill, it will keep the speed at about 35km/h without pedaling,
it just increases the torque and thus the amps and doesn't slow down much.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ef2XK1nHQEE

[youtube]ef2XK1nHQEE[/youtube]
My dad had the honors of turning the throttle the first time, I didn't need any adjusting, the pressure on the wheel was perfect and the release and lock motion is perfect too.

The only thing is the grip tape has worn out, I use the self-adhesive stuff you put on stairs, but I think the glue melts and it comes off.
I will try epoxying a belt-sander belt soon, hope that lasts longer.

What do you guys think of my effort? Can't wait to get an expert opinion on this.

Hans Joore
Aerospace Engineer at PAL-V, Netherlands

Onthaal aan eindeloos gebied! :: Welcome to ES!