Help 18FET Lyen Controller

RyanMc

1 µW
I have a pedal bar bike. I am not very tech savvy but here is my issue.

I have a Cro Motor. It’s a 5,000 watt continuous motor with a maximum burst output of 12,000 watts for only a few minutes.

I have a Cycle Analyst and a Lyen 18 MOSFET controller. The controller has a hot electrical smell so I think something got hot. Cycle Analyst still turns on and I have a throttle pedal connected to that that when depressed will move the bike. When I depress the pedal, the cycle analyst recognizes it and there’s a bar that moves up and down showing it’s pressed but the bike doesn’t move.

It’s powered by 6 12 volt batteries. I’ve emailed Edward Lyen but haven’t heard back and in the past he hasn’t had replacement boards to make a new controller.

Am I able to use another type of motor controller? If so what and how?

Any help is greatly appreciated! I have a few pictures of the connections! I need to get back up and running!!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 5
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 3
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 4
If the controller failed, knowing why will help you ensure a new one won't. But if you don't, that's ok, we can still find you one that will do the job you need it to.

How much battery current is the present controller rated for?

Does it have any customized settings? Or is that all in the CA?

If the CA is doing all control/limiting/etc functions, then you just need a non-ramping (instant-start) throttle-only controller that can operate above 84v (typical full charge for a "72v" battery) (so a "100v" controller would work), that can handle at least as much current as the present controller.

There are probably thousands that can do the job, depending on the current required.