nickel strip sizing advice

MTH07

10 µW
I am new to battery building, and trying to make sure that I am thinking through my first battery build to power my BBSHD powered ebike.

My question is on sizing of the nickel strip connections - I am looking at using samsung 25r cells in a 14s4p configuration. The controller on the BBSHD is 30 amps. I figure on using a 40A BMS so there is a little margin of error there above the 30 amps that the controller could demand.

I know that there are higher capacity cells that would give me a higher capacity in that configuration, but I am leaning towards the 25r cells for this first build due to the lower cost and they are likely to run nice and cool no matter how hard I flog the bike.

Since those cells are 20A cells, the battery would be theoretically capable of producing up to 80A, but it would be limited by the 40A bms. Do I need to size the series connections for the maximum theoretical possible (e.g. 0.15mmx8mm strips at 5A each for a total of 16 strips needed), or the BMS limitation (8 strips needed)? If I need to accomodate the full 80A, I probably need to look at other options like nickel/copper sandwiching etc. If I can get away with 2 strips per connection, I will probably just go with relatively thin pure nickel to keep things simple, but I don't want to create an unsafe condition obviously.

Thanks in advance for any insights on this!

What is the maximum current you will ever need to pull from the battery?

That is the target all of your interconnects need to meet. :)

Secondarily, the better the connections, the lower the resistance, the less voltage drop across them and the less wasted power as heat inside the battery, and the more power you will get under the max load at the controller/motor.