Non mid-drive && non-hub setup (Cheap)

This is my first post so if I miss some rules or norms I'm sorry.

I've been building my "cheap" electric bike since 2013 and I need to finish this. It's a standard trek mountain bike 26" and all that, with a frame triangle bag to hold the batteries and controller, 48v 16A/h, uses a simple scooter twist throttle a scooter controller from tnc.

Here's where it got tricky, I wanted cheap and I didnt want any kits, so I bought the currie izip rear wheel that has both right hand threading on the hub for the 7 speeds and left hand threading on the left side for what comes with a 20t freewheel that I replaced with a lefthand freewheel and bolted a 80t sprocket to. Then after fiddling for about a week I decided to put my 1020MY 48v 1000w unite motor on a rear cargo rack above the rear wheel. Using #25 chain I drove the 80t sprocket with the motor fine and without any crazy adapters or diskbrake mods I was able to pedal and use the motor with no interference. IT TOOK MONTHS to get the tension right so the chain would stop falling off the drive sprocket but after riding it a couple blocks and it stayed on i wanted to get my top speed, at about 27/29mph the chain fell and caught in the wheel (for pictures referred to as wreck), not fun :shock: . Finally i bought a tensioner and it worked for about 2 (15) minute ride sessions on a open field. I thought everything was good and dandy when riding it home from the field, on the road, the chain fell off and got caught in the wheel again, I am so sick of the chain falling off and I don't know what to do. My next attempt will be to use t8f or 8mm chain from motor to the rear sprocket.. if i can find one big enough...

any advice on my design/motor location would be much appreciated :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

33f959a6aa.png
- only thing missing from this setup is the added tensioner
33ff744c80.png
- only thing missing from this setup is the added tensioner