When is a Watt, not a Watt... and Other Stupid Questions.

JimD

1 µW
Hi all,
new member here. How many times have y'all seen a thread start with those words... ;) About me first, the condensed version. I'm a retired aircraft mechanic. Also spent time as an avionics tech. Retired air Force, retired teacher. I've also dabbled in cars and motorcycles my whole life and have spent the first 10 yrs of retirement restoring old motorcycles. So yeah, fully versed in wrenches and VOM's, not much of a clue about 'lectric scooters though. Moving right along....

I have a Razor Ecosmart that I picked up a few yrs ago. Bone stock. First dumb question:

Are a 700 watt hub motor and a 700 watt shaft and sprocket motor (I'm sure there's a better name for 'em) as strong as each other? I know that roughly 750 watts equals one horsepower and, technically they should be equal as far as power output... but I've heard and read that the hub motors are typically "over" rated. In other words, a 700w hub is about as strong as a 500w shaft motor. Any truth to that?

Cheers,
Jim.

Edit: I looked around this forum and didn't really see where this was asked before. At least not in it's own thread. Apologies if I'm floggin' a dead horse here.

1713226075432.png

Last edited:
In a perfect world where everyone agreed to you know, use truth.. It would be equal.

However the reality is....

Every frigging one of the companies is lying one way or the other, in the EU with most locales requiring a max power limit, they are all lying to be under that max. (which doesn't exactly work, electric motors respond to how much juice ya give them, up to the point where they overheat, or find the weak spot)