(Yet Another) Pre-charge/Kill-switch/Power Isolator

serious_sam

10 kW
Thought I’d share my design for the pre-charge/kill switch circuit that I’ve been using for the last several months. Figured someone else might have some use for it.

During the build of my bike, I was looking to develop a solution for a kill switch that would also function as capacitor pre-charge. There are a lot of posts here on ES about this type of circuit, and I read every one I could find (for example: https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=40142 ). At which point, I was inspired to develop my own design.

Nothing revolutionary. Just a different flavour to the general theme. The main difference being, that the trigger for switching on the main power mosfets is charge level based (not time based).
circuit.jpg
Notes:
- C3 represents the motor controller (capacitance). 2mF shown here, but it will work with any value.
- Components are sized for 20S pack.
- For 14S or similar, R1 and R2 should be changed to 12kOhm, and R4 should be changed to around 68kOhm.

The circuit works as follows:

1) Closing SW1 sends current through R1 to the gate of the pre-charge mosfet (PSMN7R0-100XS), which turns on, and allows current to flow through R6 (100R 10W), charging the controller capacitors. The zener D4 limits gate voltage to 12V. R5 is required to allow the gate to discharge when the switch is turned off. This pre-charge stage takes about 0.5 seconds with the Nucular 12F which has about 2mF capacitance.