• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

1st Timer Build Advice- Flat bar fast commuter for midwest

allezdude

1 mW
Newbie here, recently test rode a Specialized Turbo and it was an eye-opener (in several ways:) Almost bought the "plain" Turbo model (around $3800) but after doing some research, seems like DIY can give you more bang for your buck. Plus, I would like something a little faster than the "down graded" Specialized.

I've been cycling all my life; almost 50 Y.O. now. The ebike will be for commuting to work (5 miles round trip), run errands around town, etc.... The purpose-built ebikes look pretty ugly to me- I'd like to build something that doesn;t look like a Sherman tank.

Looking for parts advice (motor, battery, controller, etc...) from the forum. Here are my deets:

Bike:--> Trek Cross Rip- basically a disc-braked cyclocross bike, converted to flat bars. 135 rear spacing, carbon front fork with thru-axle, hydro disc brakes. mounts for fenders & racks.
Pedelec preferred to throttle or other
Desired max speed on level ground---> circa 30 mph
Desired max range at what cruising speed.---> 20 miles at 24ish mph?
Preferred bike wheel size---> 700 c
Brake type of motor wheel. ---> disc.
Rider weight---> 155 lbs.
Terrain.--> mostly flat (midwest)
Battery--> frame bag hanging inside front triangle. Lithium-something
Budget--> $1500- $2000 (for ebike parts)
Hub or mid-drive--> open to either, kind of leaning twords hub drive
Wrenching ability--> I used to be a bike mechanic, although don;t have any electrical knowledge

Cheers & thanks for any advice you can give! :D :D :D

I'm sure someone will probably post it, but a mac motor with a triangle battery in bag looks like it will fit your bill really well.

http://em3ev.com/store/index.php?route=product/product&path=45&product_id=185