8-piston gator brakes -

HAL9000v2.0

10 kW
They have commercial that say "Deadly stopping power." so I must test that.
first some pictures after testing.

Slika0044.jpg

Slika0045.jpg

Slika0047.jpg

What happened? 150kg bike and me traveling some 20km/h. Front tyre is kenda flame 3" wide, not inflated enough so actual surface in contact with ground is some 80x60mm
I delibretly squized breake as hard as I can to test it and bike stopped in some 0,2m with rear wheel some 1m above the ground. ( piston calippers simpli grab disc where it touches it. The disc was strong enough for all other breakes I have tested before. This one is amaizing! I have some experience in big bikes but never saw calipers grab disc as strong as this. Original disc that comes it gold phosphatised and this one was hard steel.
Disc is broken, adapter is broken, 10 spokes are broken, fox haven't got a skratch, and saliper was good.
I will make 2,5 mm disc without holes to see next weak spot...

It lives up to it's name.. the stopping power can kill you :)
I wonder if they make rotors and other brake equipment that can actually withstand the power, lol.

Hi,
j3tch1u said:
btw, how is the modulation/feel on those brakes?
Equally important or maybe more important than the stopping power.

What size are the rotors?

How much did the brakes cost?

Build quality?

Mixed information:
http://forums.mtbr.com/showpost.php?p=2471626&postcount=4
They come from making motorcross brakes,ive tried some on motorcross bikes and they are solid,so should be good for mtb

the 4 piston version was tested by "mountainbike magazin" 5/06* and compared to ~20 other discbrakes.

quote/translation:

"Gatorbrake 4 Piston 170mm/150mm
180 Euros each wheel
weight 494/573g

Modulation: 1 out of 5 stars
Power: 2 of 5
Fading Resistance: 2 of 5
performance when wet: 3 of 5