Build help for a newbie

yenemy

100 µW
I am trying to install a grin GMAC rear hub kit onto my Trek multitrack 750 bike. Being a complete novice to bicycle maintenance and/or repair of any kind, I should probably have chosen something simpler, but I'm looking forward to getting to grips with this. Hopefully I'm asking this in the right forum!

I'm doing some test fitting of pieces together, and it appears that the rear hub + cassette don't quite fit into my rear dropouts (pictures attached). This is a 7-speed cassette, which matches the rear wheel the hub is replacing. I'm wondering what I can do to remedy this... do I just need a smaller cassette?

I have been googling around, but can't seem to find specs for my frame; rough measurements (I only have a tape measure in inches) indicates the internal rear dropout width is about 140mm.

Really hoping I haven't screwed myself here, thank you in advance for any help and advice!

Attachments

• PXL_20231111_000429193.MP.jpg
    PXL_20231111_000429193.MP.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 20
  • PXL_20231111_000424093.jpg
    PXL_20231111_000424093.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 20
For that ~1-2mm-ish amount, you could slightly spread your dropouts, keeping in mind that while steel frames are very forgiving of this, aluminum ones are less so, if you need much more than this amount

Spreading them also makes the dropout faces non-parallel, so there is then some bending load on their connection to the frame once you tighten down all the axle hardware.

But...it will probably be fine for this small amount.

Make sure you follow the motor installation manual's procedure for installing the torque arm and securing it to your frame; it's very important. ;)

Also, be careful with the motor cable so it stays completely within the dropout space and doesn't get smushed up by the frame or edge of the dropouts, and isn't tightly bent to route it up to the frame for tie-down.