Dakota Lithium 12v 10Ah to replace eZip SLA?

markw

10 W
Hi guys, battery noob here, but I've been reading your forum and studying up a bit and it's been a lot of fun. Thank you for all of your postings, DIY guides, pictures, and more.

Question a.) Been trying to find out my LiFePO4 solution for a while. Currently my eZip MTN 2008 runs on SLAs. Voltage sag big time. It would appear that these Dakota Lithiums have the same dimensions as the batteries inside the Currie SLA packs. If I could get them to work, I would have a 24v 10Ah battery for around 200 bucks! What sorts of issues would I have if I simply replaced the SLA packs with these Lithium ones? The SLA charger?

Question b.) I've been interested in running my eZip at a higher voltage. I want more torque and more speed! I'm aware of the gearing mods I could do for speed, but torque is important for me as my daily ride is hill intensive. From my understanding of some of DrkAngel's posts, with proper throttle control it's possible to run as high as 36v without overheating. Is there a way I could get these 12vs to operate at higher voltage? 14v max is what's recommended, and they cap at 15v max. 25.9v or maybe something a little higher? What determines the voltage going into the motor, the controller or the batteries?

Question c.) Simply going from 24v 10Ah SLA to a 24v 20Ah LiFePO4 will be very noticeable all on it's own, yes? I mean in terms of power and speed, not so much in terms of the longevity of the batteries.

Thanks so much for any input! If there is a way to get these cells to work it could mean an awesome upgrade with little work involved and significantly cheaper than many alternatives.

MarkW

Sources:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/12-Volt-10Ah-Dakota-Lithium-LiFePO4-Battery-Clean-Republic-CR1210-/380681167219?pt=US_Power_Tools_Batteries_Chargers&hash=item58a25da173