• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Electronic brake with 5v throttle

unclejemima

100 W
More of a 'theoretically' speaking kind of situation...

I'm working on a brushed ebike project and I'm trying to rig an electronic brake by using a secondary 5v throttle.

Basically, I have a 5V throttle on one side for accelerating and I would like to use a 5v throttle on the other side that would electronically brake or short the motor to slow down but in a variable way. Th more you twist, the more braking.

Is there any way of doing this? It's an old beast brushed unit so I'm hoping there is a creative way of doing this.

Let me know!

I've never done regen on a brushed motor before, but if it does work what you're looking for is usually just a feature of the controller. In the VESC ecosystem, for example, if you feed a hall to ADC2 and set the controller to the right mode, that acts as a proportional regen. In the *Runner (phase, franken, base, etc) there's often a way to directly feed that hall back to the controller (bypassing a CA, for example) to have it act in the same fashion.

Thanks for the reply.

I'm working with this controller (image below). It's very basic with only a 5v throttle input, and then the in/out power wires. It is very robust though!

If you can think of any creative way of somehow working 2 throttles, one for braking and one for accelerating, using this controller. Let me know!

How about using a 2nd identical controller to handle the braking? Assuming they will both be used independently, would that somehow work? Say the one controller is wired to the motors in reverse for example. Would that work?

Attachments

• controller.jpg
    controller.jpg
    73 KB · Views: 2
That controller definitely does not have regen capabilities.