Giant Twist Express RS2 - No Power

Pointy

1 mW
Hi,

Whilst I am an eBike noob I am reasonably competent at electronics but could do with some help with this.

I just bought this bike 2nd hand, advertised for spares or repair as the battery wasn't charging, the seller stated the charger flashes red momentarily and then nothing. However upon getting it home the battery (26cv9ah) was reading 28v and when I connected the charger the red light came on as expected. (It just occurred to me that it might behave differently if charged on the bike?)

Anyway the long and short if it is that nothing happens when pressing the on/off button on the display. I am thinking it can only be the controller, wiring or display. The controller has 28v at the connector from the battery.

The controller looked like this to start with...20240423_102638.jpg

After chipping away at the silicone it now looks like this...
20240425_142849.jpg

Back side...

20240425_202949.jpg

I have managed to reverse engineer the display...

front.jpgback.jpgdisplay schematic.png

The display lights up when powered from my bench supply and the mode button changes the mode as expected, but no battery level lights are lit.

If anyone is familiar with these bikes can give me some pointers of where to look, I would very much appreciate it.

Regards,

Les

I forgot to say there is no voltage going to the display, which looks like it is driven by Q10 on the controller. (near or, yel, red, gr, bk wires)I have not traced it any further yet.

Sorry to keep replying to myself.:rolleyes:

I am trying to see it it is cost effective to repair this bike. The battery charges to 28.7v and while I don't have a high power load to test it, I did run a led strip for 12+ hours overnight without issues.

I am guessing the display is ok because of the fact the mode button works, if the MCU was dead then it would not do anything.

So other than the controller the 2 unknowns are the motor and torque sensor.