Izip Urban Crusier review

mcintyretj

100 W
Izip/Currie Urban Cruiser review
urbanCruiser.jpg
I have not found a formal review of this bike, just some comments, so I thought I would supply one.

I have been talking about electric bikes for many years since my commute to work doubled to 24 miles each way and time spent in my 86 (no air or clutch) Honda civic extended to 3 hours on some hot days. Asked by friends when I was getting a new car, I’d say my next car will be an electric bike. This was all talk, so, I was surprised on my 51st birthday gathering to find my whole family was tired of hearing me talk and purchased the Izip Urban cruiser.

Price: $699.00
Year: 2010 (?) purchased 10/2011
Battery 1: 24v Li-Ion 10ah located in the down-tube (17.5 mile range)
Battery 2: 24v 10ah Ping located on the back rack (24+ mile range)
Motor: 250w geared in the rear
Propulsion: TMM torque sensor, no throttle
Rider’s weight: 140 lbs

First, I am a former road bike person so I was not real comfortable with the entire “cruiser” design. The big padded seat and the wide, cruiser handlebars would have to go when I had the time. I found the torque TMM sensor really cool. Just start peddling and get a boost from the motor. I had not seen this on youtube.

My first long ride was an out and back 35-mile ride with a breakfast stop at 17 miles. I rode with no power for to first 8 miles, then turned on the power to max. The sweet spot for me was right at 16.9 mph. I could peddle really hard and get it up to 18mph but it was not worth the effort. The 16.9mph was plenty good for my riding group. The battery cut out about 18 miles later but fortunately we were around the corner from my brother's house. I recharged for an hour, then rode the last 4 miles into a strong head wind on full power and was surprised to be doing at or close to16 mph.