my1018z motor project

urialbocher

100 µW
Hi all,

This build started some time ago, working on it on and off, mostly off. I have been riding full suspension mountain bike for roughly 10 years and always wanted to add a small motor kit to make the ride more fun. I wanted minimum changes to the bike and so the goal was preserve all 27 speeds, not to add too much weight, and make the kit easily detachable so I can switch back to regular mountain bike without too much work.

I looked around for motors for quite a while and finally decided to go with the my1018z (TNC scooters) which has relatively low weight and an integrated reduction gear. Since the motor does not have a freewheel sprocket, I got one from Juerg Lanz, a Swiss guy who has since then opened an ebike shop (http://www.boosty.ch/en/bike-kits.html), and who luckily for me designed one specifically for this motor. Next step was to get a freewheeling crank. I got the Echo threaded cranks and bought the threaded freewheel and some nasty metal chainrings from Cyclon.

My first attempt was was just to get the motor mounted on the bike and see how it goes. I collected some scap metal and mounted the thing on the bike. I used a pair of DIN rails which were fastened against the bike's tube using a pair of long bolts. Since these were my spare bike, and I only wanted to get a feel of things, I did not mind drilling through the frame tube. I also wasn't too concerned about strength issues since the hole diameter wasn't bigger than the exisiting water bottle holes.

The results were pretty nasty, but the thing worked pretty well...

DSC01092.JPG

DSC01093.JPG

View attachment 11