New e-board - should I chage the motor?

Hi everyone,

A friend of mine just gave me a Pulse Charger Revolution e-board that he had sitting around for awhile.

top.JPG

The lead-acid batteries were shot and he didn't have a charger for it. I am new to this, but don't mind getting my hands dirty or skinning my knuckles. I understand that I will have to drop a bit of coin to get something respectable, but I am a old school hacker/modder and tend to drool at the opportunity to start a new project, (much to the dismay of my girlfriend).

The people over in the battery section have been helping me choose a battery pack to replace the 2 x 12v 4.5ah lead-acid batteries that came with the board, but before I buy the battery pack, I was wondering about the motor. It comes with the following stock motor:

Dexun micro motor
ZXT6832-24
24v/DC 100W
NO: 20110813-29229
www.dexun.cn

motor3.JPG

Is this "good" or should I look at an upgrade? I am not so much interested in speed as in torque/power as the part of town that I live in has a lot of hilly terrain. I have a pretty good understanding of electronics and my son has a degree in electronics, so if modding the existing setup is necessary, that's not a problem.

Thanks

zog

Simply put, there are alot better motors around, but it could also be alot of work until you have a functional system again if you start to replace stuff.
If you replace the motor you probably have to replace the controller aswell. It looks like a beltdrive, and maybe that one fails if you increase power. (starts to skip etc)

I just think the product itself is an inferior candidate for any real upgrades. Better to either start with something better or build something better all together.