Rear 36v 500-1000W hub motor recommendation for high speed commuter?

Volvofan

100 mW
E-bikers-

PREFACE: Thanks in advance for any recommendations you can provide! I'm an experienced mechanical engineer so I've got a good handle on the technical interrelationships between volts/amps/watts/etc and direct drive vs. geared, etc. Relatively new to cycling/commuting and e-biking in general (about a year) so I'll probably get most of the tech jargon but may still have the occasional noob follow-up question to ask.

BACKGROUND: I do a 6 mile one-way (12 mile round trip) mostly-flat commute through a mostly suburban/small town area with some open stretches of road w/ vehicular speed limits of up to 40 mph. I started commuting last year on a 26" 24-speed mountain bike, then added an electric iMortor 250W front hub motor w/ built-in battery and controller so that I could ride to work in work clothes vs. sweating my arse off and having to shower/change upon arrival (I do pedal more aggressively on the way home to get a bit of a workout... who cares what happens to the work clothes then). I like the exercise and the environmental friendliness of bike commuting, but I'm really doing it to save TIME and gain PREDICTABILITY. The vehicular traffic (Boston metro area) varies wildly based on time of departure, weather, day of week, whether Mercury is in retrograde, or who TF knows what else... one way can take as few as 14 minutes or as long as 35-40. I can do it on the bike in 21-25 minutes no matter what time of day or no matter how much traffic. I could shave that considerably if I could reach a higher speed on the flats once I'm outside of town. Plus, in a few years, we're moving a couple miles down the road to a new HQ that will make those long, high-speed flats even longer. That's even more time I'd be leaving on the table on a heavy (~60lb) underpowered bike that can only do about 20 mph on the level, with me pedaling to help.