Recumbant Mid-Drive Scrapbuilt Buildlog. Pics & Questions.

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm building my first bike.

Briefly, my background is more entry-level electric stuff, not bicycle stuff. I don't know how to build a bike. I don't know how to repair a bike. I might be able to take apart a bike. I can barely ride a bike. And I want to build a recumbent which, I can't actually say I've ever ridden or even seen one of in person. So I'll have a lot of bicycle questions. My bike terminology is lacking. If you'd like to take the time to correct me and explain what is what, I'd appreciate that. Bear with me.

I've done a lot of research, reading, planning and pondering before now so as to not waste everyone's time and keep this thread at least semi-fun with some pics. First post here is going to be a data dump of all the specs so far. Hopefully it gets better from then on.

First up, I'm cheap. I'm interested in building as much from scrap as possible. I also find this intellectually/artistically fun, when the answer to everything becomes "just buy this" or "just spend more" the answer might as well be "just go buy one, don't bother building one" which is a half step away from "just buy a nice car." Please frame any commentary directed at me within this context. Hopefully my choices are at least interesting, if not optimal.

Here we go.

---

Structure:

There are so many recumbent design options I hit paralysis by analysis for a while. Maybe those of you reading this aren't too familiar with recumbents either, so after reading for a couple days I picked from a few hundred samples and condensed the major design choices to these things. I've labelled them myself, some of the terms might be wrong as I just made them up:

EVB%20015.jpg