School ebike

Cheddles

100 µW
Hi All,

I've read through a number of the forum threads here and have found the information to be a great blend of useful and inspirational (especially Keplar's super commuter). This is my first time posting :) For context, I'm a secondary school teacher in physics, maths and engineering. Before teaching I spent some years as an aeronatuical engineer so I'm not totally useless in practical matters but have never built an ebike before. Feedback on the following would be appreciated in case I'm heading in totally the wrong direction.

What I'd like to do is set up a smallish project for students to build a basic ebike that will serve as a testbed for a range of follow-on projects. If this works, I'd like the students to build additional bikes in a range of configurations to suit a range of rider size and purpose. The main requirements for the first bike are:
  • robust
  • simple to build
  • flexible configuration
  • low-cost (up to about $1000 total)
  • disk brakes (so we can easily switch between different wheel sizes)
  • able to take 700c road rims
  • road-legal (200W output)

Obviously this is a little different to your average ebike requirements list as range doesn't really factor in for now. I'm notionally aiming for about 20-30km but it's not critical.

An initial list of parts that I'm considering is:

This will hopefully give us a starting point that is easy enough for the students to build in the 8x100min sessions allocated. A couple of year 12 students will be helping out who have experience in building regular bikes but not ebikes. I expect that the final product will look extremely dodgy with lots of cable and cable ties around the place. This is OK as we will be trying a few different configurations once we get something working.

Thoughts and feedback on this?

Cheers,

Chris