18650 Battery Case Project

anth_85

10 mW
This is a write up of the project I have just completed.

I first started using 18650 lithium cells in flash lights on my bicycle for commuting over winter. I then read about how you can get good quality cells out of laptops, and that went on to buying lights and phone charging power banks all ran off the 18650s I had been collecting. I work in IT so get access to quite a few laptops before they go out for recycling. Around December time I counted up and had about 160 of these cells so started to think what I could do with them. Obviously I didn't need them all for lights and charging mobile phones in my caravan, (I camp off grid at dog shows so rely completely on batteries).

I had the idea of putting them together to create a case that anyone can plug stuff into to use at the caravan, AND for it to be lighter and have a bigger capacity than a 110 amp lead acid leisure battery (of which I already have 2).

I started to put them together in packs of 36 cells. Running in 3 serial and 12 parallel. I wrapped them in shrink wrap and put balance charge leads and xt60 plugs on them, the same way a RC car etc would, just on a larger capacity.
PhotoJan2345135PM_zps78e4ca14.jpg

I have now made 6 of these. I have tested all the cells in them by charging them then leaving them for a couple of weeks then checking their voltage any drop from 4.2 to below 4.1v and they were discarded.
Cells do have a range of makes and models which is to be expected from where I sourced them for free. So I have guessed roughly on average of 2amp per cell, some will be more, some will be less, gives me a rough capacity of 144amps
I have 2 BMS 1 per set of 3 packs, I am planning on increasing this to 1 each, but this is a budget project. They are not plugged into the balance charge leads because I will be charging through my skyrc b6 mini they are only there to protect from over discharge.
I have installed 3 12v car plugs and 4 USB charge plugs.