Travel friendly 13s1p battery pack using 18500 cells, need cell and BMS recommendation.

scm007

100 µW
I am building travel friendly < 100wh battery packs for a 48V ebike motor. Originally I was going to target the Panasonic NCR18500A cell : NCR18500A - Lithium-ion Batteries - Secondary Batteries (Rechargeable Batteries) - Panasonic

This cell has a capacity of 2.040 ah @ 3.6V. 13 of these in series yields 46.8V x 2.040 AH = 95.5 WH.

However the voltage is 3.6V. My understanding is that I need 3.7V cells (13*3.7 = 48.1) (13*3.6 = 46.8)?

I will have 5 of these that I will wire together with a parallel switching circuit that drains the subpacks properly (off the shelf item). Charging I haven't figured out yet but will likely just charge them in parallel once I know they are all approx the same voltage.

I am an experienced engineer but I have never built ebike batteries before. I would prefer to order from a supplier who can build the packs for me. I don't mind ordering from China.

Can someone recommend:
1.) High quality 18500 cell that 13s1p will be 48V and < 100WH
2.) BMS to manage the cells
3.) Manufacturer who can create ~10 of these prototypes.

Thanks!

Oh my, you don't have small asks.

The unit you just described does not exist. I probably build more 12v systems than any one here, and I am not the most knowledgeable nor the most experieenced, but you have kind of landed directly in the wheel house of what I do build a lot of.

3.6 x 4 =14.4
3.7x4 = 14.8