Cake Kalk - Dual Battery?

fjefman

100 µW
I need some help. I have a Cake Kalk & and love the thing but wish I had more range. I'm wondering if I could add a second battery to the bike and use a parallel kit from these folks - https://bicyclemotorworks.com/product/dual-battery-parallel-module/

Wiring it up is straight forward enough...but I have two key questions.

How I figure out what the max AMP draw of the Cake Kalk is? That parallel kit is rated for 120amps max.

How do I know if the controller will throw a weird code if I connect this thing? If both the stock battery and an extra one are hooked up with the controller even know that the second battery is connected?

These might be simple questions but I'm new to this e-moto stuff so still learning. Any guidance is appreciated.

Jeff

The specs on their page (quoted below for reference if anyone needs them)
Peak Power
Kalk&, INK& 10 kW*
Kalk INK, INK Race, OR, OR Race, AP 11 kW*
Nominal power
5.8 kW

At the listing of
Voltage (nominal)
51.8 V
Capacity
50 Ah / 2.6 kWh

that means peak current should be 11000W / 51.8v = 212.4A. For a 2.6kwh pack, that's about 4C.
nominal should be 5800w / 51.8v = 112A continuous capable, which is about 2C for the 2.6kwh pack load.

So first, your new battery should be chosen to be capable of at least what the old one can do, so that if it ever ends up stuck running the whole load (old one shuts down or fails on a ride for whatever reason), the new one can handle the load without damage or stress.