Controller Software Development

rhitee05

10 kW
I normally stay on the hardware side of things, but I'm making an ill-advised foray into the software side of controller design. I figured I might as well document my misadventures for others to look at. If there's interest, I'd love to have a discussion here about designs, techniques, etc. As long as it's mostly related to the software side of controllers, I won't consider it OT. :)

Background
As a grad student, I'm currently taking a class on FPGA Design, which is mostly project-based. I've talked my professor into letting me work on implementing a BLDC controller as my project for the class. Now, that comes with a few caveats. As any engineering student will tell you, class projects are usually somewhat contrived for educational purposes! In this case, there are a few specific types of functionality I have to include to keep my professor happy (happy professor = happy student!). However, I don't think that will sidetrack the project too much from where I'd like it to be. The second caveat is that the hardware I will be using for class would not be workable for a useful controller. However, I don't think that will be a major obstacle either. The end result should be portable to a more appropriate platform. It'll be easier to get a handle on the hardware requirements once I actually start writing code.

Concept
I've started by brainstorming roughly what the "ideal" controller would be capable of as an end-goal. Here's a quick bullet-point list:
- Sensored and sensorless operation, automatic detection of Halls, possibly "hybrid" mode using sensored for low-speed and sensorless for high-speed
- Field-oriented control using a design heavily based on Shane Colton's (write up here: http://web.mit.edu/scolton/www/MSCR_Rev1.pdf)
- Closed-loop control with current-based (torque) throttle and outer speed loop for "true" cruise control