Ebike Noob here, I want to upgrade my 28" Crossbike into an ebike,

Oh thanks for that advice, I'll def buy that if its not included in the set. A front wheel falling apart would result into a not so fortunate sudden stop for sure.

Must. Have. Torque. Arm. Especially for front drive with regen.

As the guy who I would see as the proper authority, can you explain to me the physical differences between the dropouts on my rear triangle and the one's on my fork, or is the torque arm related to something else?

I don't disagree with regen braking, but that's a whole lot more force you're putting through it then with a 250w eu certified motor ( without regen braking unless I missed that ).

i have a front mounted 250W geared motor and no torque arm. No regen thou.
But it has flattened sections on the axle that sit tightly in the fork slots so it prevents the axle from rotating (i think it's good enough safety guard for such low power motors).
And regen - i would skip that in flat terrain, maybe useful when there are long downhill sections...
Finally, regarding the speed/safety - maybe im too old but feel that riding a bike at speeds well over 30 km/h is good and nice, but only if you have a flat wide road with great visibility. Any collision/unexpected pothole/curb at 35 km/h and there will be damage and possible painful crash. It just feels too easy to ride fast but stopping and avoiding sudden obstacles doesnt work that great. So for first ebike i'd avoid the temptation to go too fast.

Last edited: