Electric Motorcycle - Where to start?

Hi all,

I just managed to get a KTM Duke 690, already with the engine removed. zero miles, no oil anywhere :)
I've built electric skateboards and bikes, and batteries, so I have some experience with motors, controllers and batteries, but very little clue in terms of planning which parts I'll need for this.

I'd like to use a mid motor and not hub, the goal would be 70-80mph top speed, then as much range as the battery I can fit in, the biggest battery I've built was a 12s4p, so not sure if I'd be confident enough to build something that I'd guess is many times that in cells.

Any pointers or suggestions on where to start researching the most suitable motor, battery, controller, and all the other things that I undoubtably am not aware of yet?!

Andy

Start by reading build threads here on this forum:
EScooter/EMotorcycle Build Threads

Then work out what build comes closest to your wishes. And learn from their mistakes and choices of motor, controller and battery builds. Not sure if you want it to be road legal? If so, also check for the rules and regulations on how to do so.
Good luck and enjoy the process.

Would you prefer to use brushed or brushless? The efficiency isn’t going to be too much different with a brushed motor if it’s going to be chain driven either way. Brushed motor controllers are cheaper at higher power levels if that’s a big factor for you. If you do choose to go that route, industrial motors (even old used ones) could be a good way to get cheap power. That’s how I’d do it at least, although I’ve never done it on a motorcycle before