• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

ElectricRider or Ping Battery?

Hi guys,

First post...been lurking for a while working on educating myself so I can talk smart on this subject...in other words, a total noob. :)

I'm getting a couple of 48V 20AH LIFePo4 packs for a friend of mine. He has MS and his electric trike is his life. He rides every day without fail. He's been using SLA's and now he wants to make the plunge to 21st century battery chemistry.

He needs two packs b/c he has to have a backup to get him home. He's pretty with it, but a backup bank just keeps him safe which is a necessity.

Was going to order a couple of battery packs from Ping when I discovered http://electricrider.com/batteries/index.htm electric rider's prices which are very competitive, especially for an in-country provider. They advertise that they build the batteries themselves and since they are in the US, shipping for a problem battery cost a lot less (duh).

Does anyone have any experience with these guys? I know a lot of folks like Ping, but I've also read about plenty of problems as well (good ole' Internet).

Any help is appreciated!

I know nothing about electric rider's batteries. I don't know what chemistry or what they are. They might assemble the pack in the USA, but likely the cells are from china. Just sent from the USA is good at times though.

But I've been a Ping fanboy since a few months after he started selling. Boy, was sending that cash to china scary then, in 2008. I'd say go ping myself, since I have been so happy with them. I've used up two now, and only not buying another because I had only $250 to spend this year.

Lifepo4 still has better cycle life expectancy than others. So that's a plus.

A couple options would appeal to me right now.

30 ah of ping. 40 is a LOT, he may not realize that he really will get double the range per ah from lithium vs lead.