First time build - Converting a Yamaha XT250

kuhioday

1 µW
Hi everyone, I have an old Yamaha XT250 that has been laying around for a few years now. I took an interest in converting it to electric, because I figured it would be cheaper than trying to buy an electric motorcycle new.

However, I can't say I really know much about converting motorcycles, or really working on vehicles at all. I have a good amount of experience working with electricity, as I used to be an avionics mechanic in the Army. I want to know if this project would be realistic and if it would REALLY save me money. Even if it would be just as expensive as a new bike, I'd still be game. I like to reduce waste and it feels a shame to throw this whole bike out. I do have a lot of tools and a space to work on it, but nothing that is specifically for working on motorcycles.

If this is a project that I could realistically undertake and could be cheaper/slightly more expensive than buying a new electric motorcycle, I'd really love some advice on where to start and what kinda of components I'd need.

Thank you! Below are some pictures of the bike:IMG_20231201_135226421.jpgIMG_20231201_135230328.jpgIMG_20231201_135246614.jpgIMG_20231201_135237205.jpg

How you intend to use the bike will determine your motor size and needed battery capacity. What speed, for how long, and up what grade? Do you intend to install a hub or a mid-drive motor?