FLIPSKY new 20s 100A tiny controller (vesc based)

Battery cells should be the LG MH1 (10A). They advertise 17,5ah but that cell is 3200mah so that would be a 16ah if it’s a 13s5p battery. Cells should be able to provide 50A though. Correct me if I’m wrong, I’m new to this. I don’t know about the BMS but I’ve seen other people daily driving this 35A peak controller with this bike with no issues. I should have some margin for improvement.

I looked at other, easier to setup options, but all sine wave controllers that I could find were either too big to fit in the bike's frame (it’s a folding bike) or too expensive. (I’m looking for a sine wave controller because I want a quieter and smoother ride also). The next best option would be to modify the case of a Sabvoton 7545.

I’m ok with learning the vesc interface. My concern is that no matter how hard I try, I might not be able to make this run properly because some settings are very technical and I saw that even some pros struggle with it. I’m wondering if the reported issues are intrinsic to this particular controller or are related to specific battery-motor configurations that push this controller to its limits / improper vesc setup. Or maybe they only affect the first version of this controller which was prone to overheating.

Basically new cells would be able to provide that 50 amps, so if you have put it through some charge cycles, it would have dropped a bit. If you have witnessed 35A being used with no problems, it's probably fine to start there. If you have power cutting out, then you have to figure out if it's the BMS stopping the controller from asking too much or the controller overheating/hitting upper limits of amperage or temps.