Help a guy have fun again on a bike

Chrisheuer

1 mW
:wink: Hi here you go I’m 65 6’3 295 lbs have road bikes all my life commuting touring recreationally etc . Have a mid 80’s steel lugged Nashbar mountain bike I want to electrify. Will be riding only on road and gravel in mid Missouri so some hills. I have some bike mechanic experience but not a pro. First don’t want to kill myself so 20-25 max on speed . Have maybe 1500 max for motor and battery.
So have researched the options I’m thinking 48 volt 1000 watt front or rear hub. ????? Do I want peddle assist ? Do I want or need suspension front fork? Direct drive?? I’ve changed the geometry of the bike with new bars and seat. I like the grin tech videos but what is a good us company to work with. I just want to do some leisurely cruising with moderate to light peddling. Help is appreciated thanks

Take a look at ebikeling (purchased a 48V, 1200w front hub kit from them and it performs well). You should be able to procure a 1000w rear hub kit for $250. FME, a Lunacycle 52V 14 ah battery probably $600 or so with charger will complete the system. You wouldn't need a front suspension fork if you resided in socal since the streets are well-maintained, but may in your neck of the woods.

Go with a rear hub motor, with internal planetary gears. A direct drive will be heavier than you'd like, and won't coast as nice as a geared hub motor.

500w rated motor in the larger 48v kits is typical, and 1000w will be plenty of power. Go with something like that from Grin, or you might consider E-bikekit. Disclaimer, I worked for EBK before I retired. Both companies are known for a good warranty, and backing that warranty up. Grin has the latest tech, but the EBK kit is a good solid kit with waterproof wiring connections, and still includes a very good display with rider customization for the settings. PAS is optional with those kits, but you get it if you want it.