How difficult is basic frame fabrication?

MikeFairbanks

100 kW
I'd like to start fabricating low-trikes (basically drift trikes but with drift as an option, not the norm).

Specifically, how would I go about bending the tubing? Wood jigs and a blowtorch?

I was certified 25 years ago in oxy-acetylene welding (up to about an eighth of an inch) and basic arc welding, but most of my skills are long gone.

I'm good mechanically, and have been steadily involved in carpentry for thirty years, so I have basic knowledge.

I want to be cheap, but build some fun trike frames or just experiment. Is this something reasonable for a garage shop, or should I just design a frame and work with a local fabricator?

None of this is serious. I want to build trikes like the Atticus and such (but my own design, not like theirs).

Example: http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.urbantrike.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/Atticus-main-428x420.png&imgrefurl=http://www.urbantrike.com/store/products/atticus/&h=420&w=428&sz=148&tbnid=tsZ8AfcDaHpUvM:&tbnh=86&tbnw=88&prev=/search%3Fq%3DAtticus%2Btrike%26tbm%3Disch%26tbo%3Du&zoom=1&q=Atticus+trike&usg=__BkKA10MNfQ57J629NETqw8ion20=&sa=X&ei=pNhhUPnfAZDK9QS4jYGACQ&ved=0CBUQ9QEwAQ

I built my own frame, with NO knowledge, with an angle grinder and a borrowed stick welder. It held me for around 1000miles at up to 30mph, though it was heavy (2mm x 40mm box section lol)

With your past experience it should be no problem mate!

Jay

To bend tube you need a tube bender. and to get good bends with a constant radius and without pinching down the inside, you need a mandrel bender. Thats a few hundred bucks used. Not cheap, but not outragiously expensive either.