MAC Motor Stator+Rotor ReDesign. Guru Help needed.

Kiwi

1 kW
Hi.

I am designing a high powered geared hub motor for production.
The mechanical side of things we have sorted. But I have little experience in the design of the laminations, magnets and deciding the pole count, tooth depth ect, general electromagnetics.
The motor is based of the MAC/ BMC/ Ezee.

From my experience with the MAC, heat is an issue for us. Something is not right that the cables and motor get hot in our application.
Our ultimate goal is low speed torque.
We are aiming to 50v and 95 phase max, battery current around 30 amps.

Basically Im open to the voice of experience to help me design the stator and rotor.
We have a good heat flow from the base of the laminates and out the motor.

Like I said, the goal is torque at low speeds. The motor still has to spin up, but it needs to grind too. 5:1 reduction is maintained. I can get desired RPM once discussion starts.
If people throw some ideas around I will cad the core and post it back up for more feedback.

If you have links to good design guides let me know.
I know we can get much better heat handling than the mac for our application, and I cant help but feel its the high pole count causing some sort of issue, need to learn.

Help.
Kiwi.

if you say your motor will be BASED on the MAC: what parts are you gonna use? which are you planning to build?
are you just trying to keep dimensions and feed it with 40/90a? i do this, but i have the MAC modded "crossbreak" style and use it as a middrive. that way the motor can be kept "cool" with up to 2kW.
btw: do you have an old 0,35lam MAC to sell maybe? i'm looking for one ...

It's extremely specialized work to make a system with BEMF that won't cause harmonics that make it an inefficient hassle to drive it.

You need Miles or Farfle or Biff to design review your lams.

Thanks Luke.