Motor decision for long john cargo bike w/ steep hills

Nightdiver13 said:
Also, I'm very aware of my IGH torque limitations and gear ratio needs. I'm not experienced with the motors I've been asking about, but I'm plenty experienced with bicycle drivetrains and using them for cargo applications.

BBSHD's maximum torque is 160Nm, so you can add that to your estimated pedal torque. Then divide by your external gear ratio to get input torque for your hub.

Nightdiver13 said:
What I mean is that I know what my chainline requirements are, and what the resulting chainlines are from the various motor chainrings, so I'm not worried about it. Also, I'm very aware of my IGH torque limitations and gear ratio needs. I'm not experienced with the motors I've been asking about, but I'm plenty experienced with bicycle drivetrains and using them for cargo applications.

Check this out: https://www.endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=16264&start=100#p1464217 and this https://www.electricbike.com/mid-drive-kit-igh/

I've been riding ighs for years too before building my first ebike, and it was a though landing: you cannot base your motorized expectations on your un-motorized experience. Power level are just a magnitude higher. There is quite some discussion here about which igh can handle how much power, and besides super strong 3 speed hubs, plus that one sachs p5 cargo hub and perhaps the old nuvinci, none is built to withstand the power of bbshd, or a 1kw unleashed 02. There is not much feedback about the new nexus 5 speed, but I don't expect miracles from it, as it's targetting the european market where 250w is the limit.

Anyway, it seems to me your mind is set on the drivetrain, and you'll have to make you're own experiences. Let's see where this goes - Keep us posted!

qwerkus said:
Check this out: https://www.endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=16264&start=100#p1464217 and this https://www.electricbike.com/mid-drive-kit-igh/