• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

My search for an eMotor system for my Catrike Trail

CatrikeMan

10 µW
I’ve owned a Catrike Trail for 4 years here in Arizona and love it. I used it almost every day pedaling 8-12 miles for exercise/weight management. Due to a “minor” knee operation gone badly, I wound up walking with a cane. After four months I was able to get back on the Catrike but could only trike on level roads close to home. BORING!
I decided to electrify my trike and did the Google thing for researching various vendors. I could have put a system together myself (I’m an Electronics Design Engineer) but I wanted something NOW.

I selected one major eMotor vendor and after watching several videos, checking out their WEB site, and talking with the President of the company I placed an order. I was told that the system should arrive in 3 weeks. Enough of the components arrived in 2 weeks to allow me to set up the system. Some of the optional equipment was backordered and would arrive in another week. So far so good.

The system was easy to set up, unfortunately when I turned ON the battery, nothing worked, NADA. It was DOA. The system was returned to the vendor and they verified that the system was programmed incorrectly by the factory. The president apologized and offered to send me a new system with a 20% discount. I declined since I didn’t like the quality of some of the components and the fact that they shipped a system that clearly was not tested. I will not mention the name of the vendor since they did reverse the credit card charges in a timely manner and took care of all shipping.

Back to square one.