• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

New Member Saying Hello

Hi everyone,
Ide just like to introduce myself, im Wayne and for the past 2 months ive been thinking of selling my Ktm 300 and building myself an ebike. I came across the page Electricbike.com which i have read alot of it and hence why i am on here, Im a Sparky by trade "House hold Electrician with a bit of PLC Control work Experience" but have never liked DC but i guess that has to change.
I have been reading articals on ES for nearly 3 weeks now which isnt long but im currently bored and on holidays so i have read alot for my needs.
My goal is to build an Ebike for general off road use using a Specialized Big Hit Dual Suspension Bike,
Im not looking for a speed machine Compared to most but if i can get close to 60km/h top speed ill be happy as most of my riding will be in the 20 to 35km/h range in the bush" Fire Trails Mainly".
Im 41 yrs old so not looking to take the bike off massive jumps but more like riding tight single trails and going over a few logs and trees would be it, As for hill climbing ability we do have some steep hills around the Ourimbah State Forest but only foot hills and nothing too big but short and steep.
What im having troubles with is deciding which motor i need for my requirments, As i have said i have read alot and used the Simulator and was considering the smaller 35T motors belonging to Crystalite but im sure i read somewhere the new models have weak axles?

My hardest problem is deciding if i want a 36V system with 2 x 20 Amp Batteries so i can switch to 72 volt or an over powered 48V system. Im looking to stay under the $2500AU mark if possible. lol

Anyway that is me in short, I look forward to this site very much and getting to know some of its members.

What can i say but this is the best Forum ive ever come across.

Wayne

welcome to the forum Wayne,