Series connecting dissimilar battery packs.

BalorNG

10 kW
I want to build a velomobile for long trips.

Currently, I have 7s 80Ah 'main' battery and after a bit of a fiasco with a 200kv motor I'm contemplating a 130kv motor - but to reach desired RPM more voltage will be required.
I contemplate getting an extra 3s ~90Ah auxiliary battery.
Each will have it's own BMS.

First battery will be used as a motor battery.
Second will be wired in series with the first AND will have a separate 12v output for things like lights, cooling fan, etc.
Batteries will be charged separately.

Otherwise using a voltage booster is possible, but at a hit to efficiency which I don't like.

I'm new to this, but it sounds doable to me... or is it?

Not a good idea at all.

Get / build a quality single new pack at the xPyS layout you need.

Lower-volt converter running off the pack as a whole.

10S charging is easy, but if you want to split 2*5S, OK, but same exact cells, mfg date and all.

BalorNG said:

Currently, I have 7s 80Ah 'main' battery and after a bit of a fiasco with a 200kv motor I'm contemplating a 130kv motor - but to reach desired RPM more voltage will be required.
Theoreticaly it will work, however:

--If the BMS's FETs aren't both capable of the full voltage of the whole series set, then if one of them shuts it's FETs now have the full voltage of both packs across them, and can fail if not capable of that. FETs tend to fail shorted, so the pack would then be stuck "on", and unable to stop discharging. Since it was already trying to shut off to protect the pack for whatever reason, this is a problem.

If the FETs are all rated higher than the packs will ever charge to, then that won't be a problem.

The booster idea on the single existing pack will probably work, but it doesnt' just have an efficiency hit, it's also another potential point of failure. :/

amberwolf said:
BalorNG said:

Theoreticaly it will work, however: