Some questions for an Electric ATV Build

Nerdengineer

1 µW
So, I'm an electrical controls engineer, I own a Surron bike and love it. My friend has decided he wants to build a street legal electric ATV and has asked for my help.

I'm 100% comfortable Wiring, programming, etc. But I don't know what is the most reliable setup.

We have decided to shoot for a top speed of 60-80mph and a range of 50-60 miles. This won't be used off-road, only on paved streets, but we live in Colorado Springs and nothing here is flat so the range will definitely be affected by that. It will obviously be a chain driven rear axle and street tires will be put on the bike.

I've narrowed it down to the ME1507 or the QS180 for motors. Is either brand/model better than the other in areas? Is either of them more reliable than the other? Is one more available than the other? is the water cooling on the ME1616 worth it? And if it's water cooled what type of pump do I need to run it and how much would that cut down on the range?

Controllers, there are so many I can't narrow it down. We'd like it to be bluetooth capable to use a phone to change some options here and there. The easier it is to program the better. While I will be doing the initial programming/tuning, I will need to show him how to do it as well in case he has to change something without me.

Batteries - Here's the deal lol. I know how to and can build battery cells, but I'd prefer not to. He is perfectly okay with ordering a pre-made battery setup and that's what I'd prefer as well. Any reputable suppliers you guys know of? I'm thinking 72 or 96V with a decent Ah rating for range.

Display - He wants a nice display that can show a lot of data, mph/battery/range and so on.

Any and all suggestions would be appreciated. I spent some time going through the forums and instead of narrowing things down I ended up expanding the list of items I'm interested in lol.