Splicing an 8 conductor motor wire: how to make an elegant slender splice?

zacksc

100 W
The wire going from my controller (Baserunner) to my motor (Bafang G3x), is a 9 conductor wire ending in a Z9 molded Higo connector. Due to the very close proximity of the Baserunner to the motor in my set-up I have a lot of excess wire length and, even though I like the Higo connectors, I think I will need to cut and splice. The cable is about 7 mm diameter overall, and contains 3 phase wires (18 AWG?) and 5 Hall sensor wires which are smaller. I am pretty new to this and would love to learn how to do a splice that does not bulge much. Any advice is most welcome. I know there are a lot of blogs and posts around that discuss splicing, but I haven't seen anything that focusses on keeping the splice diameter close to the diameter of the original wire, in this case for a total of 8 wires. Is it practical to try to stagger the individual splices or something? Does ordinary heatshrink provide adequate insulation for the phase wires, which presumably would be pressed together inside a larger heatshrink.
A big concern for me is not to have a large unsightly bulge. Is it realistic to think that I can keep the overall diameter to say 8 mm, starting with an 7 mm diameter 9 conductor wire? I don't have much experience and I am very appreciative of expert advice from experienced people. (Also, if you are near Santa Cruz and interested in a gig, that is another possibility.)

The best way to keep a small diameter to the resulting section is to stagger the splices, so that none of the heatshrink or splice points of any wire overlaps any other wire. But this leaves a very long total opened section.

One plus is that even if you mess up the heatshrink over the exposed conductors, or even leave it off entirely (not recommended), the conductors can't short to each other because they are all separated by insulated areas.