Sport EV & delivery EV

CroDriver

100 W
Hi.

I'm a newbie on this forum but I'm active in some other EV forums.

I intended to build one middle size AC delivery truck and a very powerful DC sports car.

The Mazda RX-8 will be the donor car for the DC conversion. I will purchase the car probably next week.

The batteries will get into the trunk:

(111X ThunderSky 100Ah - 355 V; 35kWh; 10C pulse)

I'm still not sure which car to use for the AC set-up but it will be something like this:

Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

Greets from Croatia! :D

wow good luck on your project, what are you going to do about the power steering ?

I think groups of battery cells need to be strapped with end plates and steel straps to keep sides from swelling

nutsandvolts said:
You're doing an rx8 conversion? Cool. I just bought my third rx7, this time the first one available from 79, and the more I think about it, the more this car seems like it's a good candidate for electric. It has no power steering, no power windows, no power mirrors, no power door locks, not much power anything except antenna. It would probably be easy to convert, although there isn't much space for batteries. The thing about converting these types of cars: how to maintain good weight balance for handling, since what makes the cars handle so well is the placement of the engine, such that the weight is centered behind the front axle. It seems that if you don't achieve the same weight distribution when placing motor and batteries, then you'll lose the signature great handling.

I won't have any gearbox in the RX-8 so I think that the double Kostov will fit in the gearbox tunnel. I think that there will be enough space to put some batteries under the hood to get a good weight distribution.

JPALA said:
wow good luck on your project, what are you going to do about the power steering ?

I bought a electric power steering pump from a Toyota MR2.