Starting From Dead Stop Bafang G311 Geared Hub Motor

solant

100 µW
Need Advice,
I'm a relative newbie to the E-Bike world and have recently installed a Grin "Ready to Roll" front hub system. The set-up is as follows: Rans Stratus XP long wheelbase recumbent, Bafang G311 front geared hub, Z9 Baserunner controller, ERider PAS, thumb throttle, CA3, and 36V, 17.4A downtube battery. All up weight, 255 lbs,+/-.
The problem occurs when I'm forced into a panic stop due to traffic or pedestrians without the opportunity to downshift into first gear. With the reclined seating position and elevated crank, a firm pedal stroke, in first gear, is required to accelerate to 3-5 mph to prevent falling over. When stopped in a high gear, I must get off the bike, put down the kickstand, lean the bike over, and slowly downshift into first gear while turning the crank 180 degrees for each cog. A REAL pain in the butt!
The possible solution is to use the thumb throttle only to "SLOWLY" accelerate from a stop to a riding speed where I can downshift into a lower cog. Can this be safely done without fear of stripping the nylon gears? I'm very easy on the system, using it mainly to flatten hills on my ride so the motor/gears stay very cool. Probably no more than a few degrees above ambient. Note: I can "Fred Flintstone" the bike to 1-1.5 mph prior to applying the throttle to ease the strain on the system.
Any thoughts about doing this, maybe once per ride?
Thanks, Tom

Have one on a delta trike had it turned up to 700w for about a year. Lowered it to 600w so a nice strong little geared hub but they have there limits. If you don't stall it or giving it to much power it should be ok.

Thanks for the quick replies. Your responses ease my worries! I won't do it often, and I'll be easy as I can when necessary. The best part: No more (internal) "road rage" when someone forces me to panic stop. Haha...

solant said:
Need Advice,