TSDZ2-v20.1c.3-860c(NEW) and bricked 860c display

shad3tr33

10 µW
I have been using this OSF version for about 2 months without an issue, mostly in hybrid mode. It has been working great. I can get about 70 to 80 miles with an average speed of 14-15 mph on a charge from a 48v 13ah battery.
The problem came up on my last ride. I ride mostly with assist level 1 and the lowest cog on my cassette and wanted more pedaling effort. So I dropped the assist level on the power assist mode for level 1 during the ride. I power-cycled the display after making the change and now the display will not boot up. The display stays dark. Checked the battery, verified that display had battery voltage. I tried my bootloader to upload the .bin file, but the 860c would not connect . I verified the cable from motor to display is OK with an ohm-meter. My 860c is now a brick after changing 1 parameter in the assist level settings!
I connected my old XH-18 display and went back to the stock firmware to verify motor is OK. It works fine for stock firmware. :roll:
Anybody ever hear of this? Any ideas on what to try next to recover the 860c?

Do you remember the setting you changed that bricked the unit? I had a similar problem 30 years ago flying model helicopters. If I changed 1 value in pitch curve. if the radio was off and a button was pressed on the front of x-mitter it would put full sub trim in the tail rotor. If I lowered that value by 1% the buttons were not active when off.

If you could provide details as to the exact settings that would be very helpful in debugging the firmware.
I am currently using the latest firmware from Mbrusa and it is working fine on my 860c. It is an awesome improvement over the oem firmware.

Thanks,
Todd

I am going from memory so my wording may not be exact, but under settings>assist level>power level> level1> lowered it 5 points (I think). I agree about the firmware being a HUGE improvement from the stock.