Calculating calories

mythprod

10 W
Hi guys, I'm sure this has been talked about but my search wasn't yielding what I was after so a link or something would be great if we already have a thread on here. Otherwise I'm looking for a good way to accurately measure the amount of calories I burn to and from work on my e-bike. I have a chest strap android bluetooth device that I'm using with my android and Endomondo and MyFitnessPal.com apps. The wife and I are doing the whole counting calories thing this year and if we work out we're allocated some more calories for munchies (we're given x calories per day but if we work out we get some more). I'm just contemplating the most accurate way to tell how many calories I'm actually burning on the ebike. I guess if my bluetooth strap (Zephyr HxM) calculates the amount of calories burned strictly from my heart rate then maybe that's accurate enough for those of us who ebike? I'm new to the whole thing and suspect that the calories burned will be off if I set my workout (in Endomondo) to cycling and then go as far and fast as I do on the bike to and from work. I know I don't burn near the calories I would if I pedaled without the motor, but I'm still doing a pretty good workout with the motor.

Any of you come up with a good & accurate way of calculating calories burned on the ebike?

Sounds like you have it already to me. Heart rate based will measure your output good as anything less than a full blown bottom bracket watt counter. Those are used by racers, to see what their real world watts put into the crank are, and you could count your calories from that. It's an expensive tool, so just use what you have.

If you want to lose weight riding an ebike, do these two things.