iCharger howto? I need to charge 12S...

majornelson

100 W
I'm new to RC Lipo. I've read the Wiki (it's really informative) and am cautiously venturing into Lipo land.

I have an iCharger 306B. I am (attempting) to charge two 6S 5 Ah Zippy Lipo batteries in series by using a wiring harness and a splitter for the balance leads. My charger keeps timing out when I balance charge. I must be doing something wrong here.

I don't mind balance charging each time if that is the safest route (I charge them in my garage, on the cement floor, in a Lipo fire bag from HK). I'm not overly paranoid but I like predictability... :)

If I charge them (6S Zippy) individually they pass with flying colors. I think my balance setting is a 2 Amp charging rate.

As always, any advice or thoughts are appreciated.

I think I have this partially solved...

I read on an RC forum that you can charge up to 1C. Makes sense. So I should be charging one battery at 5 amps (I think). My confusion is when I have the 2 batteries in series and have a balance led that breaks out the one connection for the two. Do I charge at 5 amps or ten? Or do I have this totally confused... :?

I'm assuming you are charging them in a 6s arrangement, by paralleling them. Series couldn't be working, series the mains and parallel the balance plugs and you get Kentucky fried fingers.

Look in your charger menu, for adjustments for time out length, and other stuff. You will need to increase time to shutoff to charge a big parallel bundle of packs.