• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Solar charging NI-MH

theRealFury

10 kW
Hello All,

I have been using solar for a couple of years now but only been using SLA as storage batteries but i have a requirement for a project of a small solar setup that can handle short duration high current demand, perhaps only 30-40 minutes. Now i know lead can handle it but to size the setup for lead would mean i need a lot of weight and also need to take peukert effect into consideration. I have quite a few spares from different projects and builds so i was hoping to do this with minimal investmant as funds are tight at minute due to my recent ebike build.

My question is i have some NI-MH cells suitable for high drain here that didnt get used in another project and also a solar charge controller with PWM that i can adjust the termination voltage on to a degree to suite other chemistries but i have no idea if NI-MH cells are happy with being solar charged with PWM. Tried searching for my answer but didnt find anything tangiable. Has anyone tried this or does anyone know if NIMH cells can take PWM style solar charging?

As long as you research NiMH's requirements of temperature and voltage change at end of charge, and build / modify your chargers to suit that, it'd probably work.

If your chargers are simply constant-voltage output, and dont' have a delta-T or delta-V detection for end of charge, you'll end up with a fire or at least damaged batteries, since current flow will INCREASE after end of charge, and be dissipated as heat in the cells (becuase their voltage will drop).

But remember that NiMH has a high self-discharge, for the typical cells you'll find out there. Dunno what the ones you already have are like.