Solar panel for boost while coasting?

matterrr

10 mW
Just wanted to begin by saying that Endless Sphere has been an awesome resource for me and I have avoided posting questions to this point because you guys have answered all of them many times over. I thought some people might find this interesting.

For some background:

I have built a working electric vehicle that incorporates a brushless motor, Infineon controller, and a 37V 10S LiPo pack. I am making a second vehicle with the same specifications but, as my goal is to make this new vehicle as efficient as possible, and I'm toying with the idea of a small solar panel. The size of the solar panel will be restricted to about 2 square feet, or about 15 - 20 W.

The two thoughts I have had for the panel (bear with me, I am new to solar):

- Use the panel power to trickle charge battery
- Use the panel to provide a very small boost to the motor while coasting

The first option would necessitate adding active cell-balancing on board the vehicle, which would add complexity and cost (I am using CellLogs with an alarm circuit and a Cycle Analyst). I would also obviously need to have some type of boost supply and diode arrangement to provide a more suitable charging source for the battery.

The second option is more interesting to me. I ride in a flat area and utilize the pulse-and-glide method for efficiency. I would use the main battery for high-torque situations (starting from a dead stop and accelerating) but then switch to the solar panel power for glide situations when very little torque is needed to increase the glide distance. To maintain a speed of about 15 mph, the motor currently draws about 2 A, so I figure a 20 W solar panel boosted to 36V could supply about 0.5 A.

My question is, is this feasible? What would I need between the solar panel and the motor controller? Would switching between the two power sources pose any problems (huge transient voltages)?

Thanks for the help.