A2B Octive/Metro purchase?

robbiesd

10 mW
Hi all,
I found an advertiser with 2- 2012 versions of this bike about 150 miles away. They look to be in very good shape, 1-blk, 1-slvr, but neither has any battery any more. The seller wants $500 for the pair. I'm a pretty handy person and from just a short time reading on this forum it seems there were folks customizing and modifying these ebikes at one time. Seems they sold a lot of them b-4 they went under, even sold to some to rental fleets.
At this point in time are they still worth fooling with though? I'm totally new to this. I'm a road cyclists that wants an ebike to play on. If I went to look at them any red flags I should look for?

Seems like all I need to do is buy 48 vt battery packs and adapt the battery's pigtails to the bike's 2nd rear connection and mount the battery. I see there are a lot of mods that have been made over the years. Like I could do projects as long as the funds last.
Is this a good frame to take on the journey to owning a decent ebike?

A2B is all proprietary, meaning you need their battery for the system to work. You cant just put on any battery you wish, unless its a simple hack but doubtful thats the case. Not worth the money to spend on A2B unless you score a good deal and build it up DIY with ebike kit from YESCOMUSA, Leafmotor, Leafbike, EM3EV, EBIKES.CA or any number of other locations.

https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=104530&p=1530046&hilit=a2b+proprietary#p1530046
Amberwolf
the a2b series are proprietary stuff (including the battery electronics), so if any part of it fails you wind up hacking it or replacing all the electrics to get it going again. :(

they're not bad bikes, just that i don't think there's really anywhere to get any new electric parts.

there are several threads about various versions of a2b bikes, including some complete electrics replacements.